Board Members

All five School Board Members are elected "at large." While they must reside in the districts to which they are elected, they are elected by voters throughout the entire county. Each board member represents public education in all areas of Bay County and not just one particular geographic area. School Board member elections are nonpartisan.


The School Board meeting room is located in the Bay District Schools Nelson Administrative Building.

1311 Balboa Avenue
Panama City, Florida 32401
Phone: (850) 767-4100



William V. Husfelt, III


Bill Husfelt was elected Superintendent of Schools in November 2008. A former high school principal with both middle and high school coaching, teaching, and administrative experience, he holds a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Florida State University. Mr. Husfelt was the recipient of the 2004 and 2006 Florida Commissioner’s Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership. Believing public education to be the backbone of our free society, he is quick to give credit to the many people who guided and helped him reach his goals. The vast majority of those he credits are educators, coaches, and school administrators. He currently serves as a deacon and Sunday school teacher of the Young Married Class at Hiland Park Baptist Church and has been a director on the board of Panhandle Educators Federal Credit Union since 2000. He and his wife, Theresa, have three daughters ~ Stephanie, Allison and Anna ~ who all graduated from Bay District Schools.



Jerry Register
District 1

Elected to the Board in 2008, Jerry Register graduated with Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from the University of West Florida. He is also a graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi with a master’s degree in Supervision and Administration. He has 16 years teaching experience at all grade levels in public education. Mr. Register was Principal of the Year in 1998 and served as an elementary school administrator for 14 years. He is owner of Painting with Principal Jerry Register, Inc. Throughout his career, he has served and is currently active in numerous civic, educational, youth and church organizations. He emphasizes his philosophy ~ “Children are our most valuable commodity. So, their interests should be at the center of every decision made by the School Board.” His best personal advice is, “The key to success is personal integrity and hard work!” Mr. Register is married to the former Mavis Faye Moseley. They are parents of two adult sons, Grant and Mark.

District 1 includes Bay Haven Charter Academy, Hiland Park Elementary School, Lynn Haven Elementary School, A. Crawford Mosley High School, Mowat Middle School, New Horizons Learning Center and Tom P. Haney Technical Center.


District 2

District 2 includes Bay High School, Callaway Elementary School, Chautauqua Learn & Serve Charter School, Merriam Cherry Street Elementary School, Jinks Middle School, Margaret K. Lewis School in Millville, Parker Elementary School and Tyndall Elementary School.

Pamm Chapman
District 3

Pamm Chapman was elected to the BDS School Board in 2018 and also serves as the Vice-Chair. She was born and raised in Bay County. Pamm completed an AA degree from Gulf Coast Community College and a Bachelor of Science degree in Finance from Florida State University. She has served on many civic and community organizations. She is a past president of the Junior League and has also served on the Bay Medical Foundation, Gulf Coast State College Foundation, and the Junior Museum Board. Currently, Pamm is a board member for the Bay Education Foundation and the Tom P. Haney Foundation and is also serving on the Community Health Task Force for Bay County. She has enjoyed working with students and faculty over the years serving many terms as an officer for the MAPPS program and Mosley SAC Board, a Mosley Cheer Coach, a mentor with the Take Stock in Children Program and a substitute teacher with the district. Pamm is a member of The Northwest Florida Tennis Association and a group fitness instructor at Sequence Gym. She is married to Joey Chapman and has three children; Joseph, Nathan, and Elizabeth who all graduated from Bay District Schools.

District 3 includes, C.C. Washington Academy, Cedar Grove Elementary School, Everitt Middle School, Lucille Moore Elementary School, Northside Elementary School, Oakland Terrace School for the Visual & Performing Arts, Oscar Patterson Elementary Magnet School, Rosenwald High School, Rutherford High School, Springfield Elementary School and St. Andrew School.


Ryan Neves
District 4

Elected to the Board in 2008, Ryan Neves is a lifelong resident of Bay County and a product of Bay District Schools. He attended Gulf Coast Community College and began his career in software development for businesses nationwide. In 2000, Ryan and his brother opened Neves Media, which is a consulting firm specializing in marketing and business solutions. Prior to his election to the school board, he served three terms on the school district’s Citizens Oversight Committee, a group of local business people who reviewed and analyzed expenditures of the half-cent sales tax revenue. He was also a board member for the Children’s Home Society and continues to support more than 24 charitable organizations each year through his company, Neves Media. As a school board member he is committed to the steadfast and quality service to current and future generations of Bay County youth. He and his wife, Amanda, are active members of First Assembly of God Panama City.

District 4 includes Deane Bozeman School, Deer Point Elementary School, Merritt Brown Middle School, Southport Elementary School, Tommy Smith Elementary School and Waller Elementary School.


Steve Moss
District 5

Steve Moss was elected to the Board in 2010. He is a full service financial consultant with Channel Resources, Inc. specializing in retirement and estate planning. He is an alumnus of the University of Florida (UF) with a degree in Telecommunications. He has also completed numerous post-graduate courses in finance, including several from the College of Financial Planning from which he earned the designation of Accredited Asset Management Specialist. His interests are in public education finance and service to families. In the decision making process on the board, he will use his perspective as a parent of young children who currently attend Bay District schools. He is a member and deacon at Hiland Park Baptist Church, a member of the UF Alumni Association and serves as a director for the Gulf Coast Triathlon and Girls, Inc. He enjoys spending time with his family, sailing and Ironman Triathlons. His wife Deniece is a principal at West Bay Elementary School. They have two children, Madison and Cooper.

District 5 includes J.R. Arnold High School, Breakfast Point Academy, Hutchison Beach Elementary School, Patronis Elementary School and Surfside Middle School.


1311 Balboa Avenue
Panama City, FL 32401
(850) 767-4100
William V Husfelt III
Superintendent, Bay District Schools
Office of the Superintendent
Shirley Baker
Equity Coordinator
Public Records Request